A Spring wedding, or Burda Young 7308 #2

This is one of my favourite and most-worn dresses to date. It’s feminine, comfy, good quality fabric, perfectly fitting, and meticulously sewn! I made the dress to wear to a wedding last Spring and it has since seen a number of parties, meetings with dressmaking clients, dinners, photo shoots and even just shopping days or lazy days at home where I want to feel pretty. The beautiful colours, the texture and the floral design along with the classic fit-and-flare silhouette just really tickle me!

Floral_views

The fabric: I chose a magnificent stretch cotton from my local fabric boutique. It has this wonderful texture that I think really adds an extra dimension to handmade clothing. It wasn’t cheap at $30+ a metre, but I am of the firm belief that you get what you pay for with fabric qualities and a good fabric can make all the difference in a finished garment. I was originally going to use this fabric to make a second version of this Cynthia Rowley dress, but (clearly) changed my mind.

Floral_fabric
The fabric up close.

For the lining, I used a cream-coloured bemsilk. This is leftover from my wedding where we draped 20m of the stuff between trees to create an arbour of sorts. By “we”, I mean my awesome Dad and brothers – thanks, guys! You can see a photo of part of that here if you like (along with my handmade wedding dress and my husband’s vest). I have learnt that 20m of bemsilk goes a long way when it comes to sewing with the stuff, so I think I’ll be lining garments with it until the day I die!

Floral_inside
The inside of the dress with the lined bodice. I love how it turned out!

The pattern: I used a slightly modified Burda Young 7308, one of my favourite patterns. After my first version, I made a few changes:

  • I pinched in the princess seams under the bust to get a better fit all round the bodice
  • I took out some of the body in the full circle skirt and made it more of a half-circle skirt
  • I added about 10cm length to the skirt
  • I added an inch to the length of the torso (this has become a standard pattern mod for me)
Floral_mods
My pattern modifications: pinching the princess seams, de-bulking the skirt, and lengthening the skirt.

Finishing touches: it has become standard for me to catch-stitch my hems and to slip-stitch my lining down. I love the invisible finish and tidy look. Yes, hand sewing can be very time-consuming, but, similarly to buying expensive fabrics, I think it is an investment that really pays off. It just gives your garment that much more of a professional and neat look. Especially when you’ve spent a lot of money on materials and want to make the dress as lovely as possible! It’s definitely worth the extra effort.

So this dress was definitely a win! It’s so satisfying to make a garment that I continue to wear and wear. This is one of the only pieces I’ve made that I’m actually really happy with, have worn loads of times, and can definitely see it being worn many more times into the future.

Floral_front

Floral_sadface
Fun fact: when we went to photograph this dress today, I went to get changed into some skirts I wanted to shoot at the same time, and realised I’d left my top at home. Boo, no skirt photography today 😦 Stay tuned though! Upcoming blog post on these!

Katy xx

8 thoughts on “A Spring wedding, or Burda Young 7308 #2

  1. What a lovely fabric and fit. And you line things as well!! I’ve never attempted lining – that’s on my long list of things I need to put time aside and address along with buttonholes, anything fitted .. the list goes on. Lovely make Katy 🙂

    1. Haha yes, I’m sure my list of “to learn” is equally as long! Sooo many skills to perfect in this hobby, and the list keeps growing! Ooh, do try lining – it’s not as scary as it seems, just takes a bit longer is all. Thanks for reading! X

  2. Hi, Katy what an absolutely gorgeous dress it is so stunning and it suits you so nicely. I have recently brought the burda young pattern 7308 which is the pattern you used as a guide for this dress. i was just wondering if you wouldn’t mind giving me some tips on how you made your dress. I’m making the dress for my sisters formal and would absolutely love for it to be near perfect so if you could please get back to me that would be so great, thank you.

    1. Hi Tori, thanks so much! My biggest tip would be to sew a mock-up first to make sure the princess seams and waistline sit exactly where they should 🙂 And of course, cut and measure everything super carefully, and sew with great precision. The extra time it takes to be careful pays off in the end! I would love to see your version when it’s done!

Leave a Reply

